Smell you later

The daily prompt: Smell you later

Wearing the T-shirt he left for me, incidentally it´s the one he was wearing when he dropped down on one knee and proposed to me shortly after this photo was taken.

Wearing the T-shirt he left for me, incidentally it´s the one he was wearing when he dropped down on one knee and proposed to me shortly after this photo was taken.

When Mike left the last time, he left a t-shirt for me. It´s one of those things we do. It started as a coincidence after his first visit in December where he accidentally forgot one, finding it a couple of days later in the laundry basket was the greatest thing ever. So after his second visit in March, remembering how wonderful that feeling was, I snuck one of mine into his bag for him to find when he got home. When he left this time he did the same for me. I found it when I got back to the apartment after saying goodbye at the airport. In the beginning smelling it caused severe pain, it reminded me that he was no longer here and how much I longed for him.

It´s 6 weeks later and the smell has faded, but not completely gone. Every night when I lay down to sleep, I cuddle up with it and the smell instantly takes me back to wrapping my arms around his waist and putting my face in that little corner where his shoulders meets his neck, slowly drawing his sent in while I close my eyes, kissing him right there in that lovely place and feeling his arms around me. The memory doesn´t cause pain anymore. Instead it puts a big smile on my face and makes me reconnect with my ever growing love for him.

Leave a Reply

